Skin & Tonics : Skincare Guides & Product Reviews

Skincare guides & product reviews for hydration lovers & the moisture barrier obsessed

May Julep Maven Unboxing & Review

So, this month’s Julep Maven box actually blew me away. This 1920’s/Great Gatsby inspired delight was perfectly executed – so perfect, in fact, that the only way I can imagine them being able to go up from here is if they did a Victorian themed Maven box (which, come to think of it, I really hope they do).

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist

 

Here’s what’s inside the May Maven box for “Classic with a Twist”:

– 1 full size nail polish in “Zora” ($14 value)
– 1 full size nail polish in “Myrtle” ($14 value)
– A trio of miniature lipsticks ($28 value)
– 2 sets of rose embellished hairpins ($3 value – estimated)

Total Value: $59

 

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist - Zora & Myrtle

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist - Zora

Zora

 

The Zora polish is absolutely beautiful and surprisingly opaque. The color is a very light pink – so light that it’s nearly white – with a shimmering pearl finish. The formula is a little thick which made application a little tricky, but it only took two coats to get a lovely, streak-free finish. It did take a while to dry completely – about 30 minutes with my Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat.

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist - Myrtle

The Myrtle polish is a classic red crème polish. It’s a beautiful, iconic shade and it the formula has a nice consistency. I used two coat, but this color is so rich that I could have just used a single coat and still had solid, streak-free coverage. Myrtle dried a little faster than Zora – about 20 minutes to dry completely with Seche Vite Dry Fast Top Coat.

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist - Paris Jazz Trio Lipsticks

 

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist - Charleston

Charleston

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist - Charleston Swatch

Charleston swatch

 

The lipsticks are adorable and packaged very beautifully. Charleston and Lady in Red look very similar at first glance, but once swatched it became apparent that Charleston is a more casual, almost sheer red. Lady in Red is totally glammed out, opaque, classic red. Sweet Lorraine is extremely sheer – almost too sheer. I really had to layer it on to get a swatch strong enough to be visible in a photo.

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist - Lady in Red

Lady in Red

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist - Lady in Red Swatch

Lady in Red swatch

 

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist - Sweet Lorraine

Sweet Lorraine

May 2013 Julep Maven Box Classic with a Twist - Sweet Lorraine Swatch

Sweet Lorraine swatch

I’m really excited about this box and hope it’s a sign of what’s to come in Julep’s future Maven offerings. If you’d like to subscribe to Julep Maven, you can get a box sent to your door for $20 a month by signing up here (referral link). If you use the code FREEBOX when you sign up, your first box is free!

Skin & Tonics Rating:

Performance: 3/5 – Great coverage for the nail polishes, though I wish the formula for Zora was easier to work with. The lipsticks are all easy to wear. Lady in Red lasts for several hours without touch ups.

Quality: 4/5 – Two of the three lipsticks are perfect – Sweet Lorraine could have used a touch more pigment. And I wish Julep would tweak the formula for their lighter opaques to make it a tad less thick.

Value: 5/5 – $20 for $60 worth of fun products is a fantastic deal.

Overall: 4/5

 

Follow me on Instagram:

 

This post contains affiliate links. Read full disclosure for details.  

Share this:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

4 comments onMay Julep Maven Unboxing & Review

  1. A box full of nail polish and lipstick…. This gets more tempting every time I see a box. :3

    • Kerry

      It’s such an exciting one! Honestly, not all of the Julep boxes are winners. I probably skip two boxes for every one box I actually get, but I love having the option of passing on the ones I don’t want.

  2. OMG. I want THIS box. Not all of the boxes from Julep do I want, but this one I want.

  3. I wonder if I would get this box if I signed up for it now… hmm.