Skin & Tonics : Skincare Guides & Product Reviews

Skincare guides & product reviews for hydration lovers & the moisture barrier obsessed

SquareHue April Review – The Bloom Collection

It’s SquareHue time again, and this month they’ve brought us a little box of Spring, 60s style, with The Bloom Collection. So far I’ve been surprised (and delighted) with the SquareHue color selections each month, and April is no exception. When I heard about The Bloom Collection I imagined pinks and reds, but the team at SquareHue had other, groovier flowers in mind.

SquareHue April 2013 Review – The Bloom Collection

SquareHue April 2013 Review – The Bloom Collection

 

First up is “Yellow Submarine,” a lovely, lemony yellow that pays homage to The Beatles. as well as the buttercups and dandelions that are beginning to pop up in my backyard. This polish is somewhere between a regular polish and a crème, and though it’s not as streaky as other crème polishes I’ve tried, it’s still streaks just a tad on the first coat. Thankfully, the streaks disappear upon adding a second coat, leaving me with bright, cheery nails that look like rays of spring sunshine.

 

SquareHue April 2013 Review – The Bloom Collection - Yellow Submarine

Yellow Submarine

SquareHue April 2013 Review – The Bloom Collection - Yellow Submarine

 

Secondly, we have “Flower Power,” a fantastic spring green that’s somewhere between lime green and that avocado color that was so popular in 60s kitchen appliances. This one was my surprise favorite of the bunch – it’s unique and edgy without being over the top, and would be equally welcome at a house party or at the office. It gives smooth, even coverage in two coats and dries fairly quickly.

 

SquareHue April 2013 Review – The Bloom Collection - Flower Power

Flower Power

SquareHue April 2013 Review – The Bloom Collection - Flower Power

 

Lastly, we have “Groovy Love,” a beautiful pastel violet that would pair perfectly with the elusive lilac lip gloss I’ve been hunting for. Things this lovely color reminds me of include Easter jellybeans, lilacs, and blueberry frozen yogurt. This polish looks almost like a crème, but it doesn’t streak and it gives full, even coverage in two coats. It also dries fairly quickly, and I actually got about 3 days of wear out of it before it started chipping at all.

 

SquareHue April 2013 Review – The Bloom Collection - Groovy Love

Groovy Love

SquareHue April 2013 Review – The Bloom Collection - Groovy Love

 

I’m happy with all three of the colors in The Bloom Collection, although I am hoping to see a shimmer polish in the next collection. I like having at least one shimmer in the bunch, and this is the first month there hasn’t been one. I’m guessing there will be one, because next month’s theme is – get ready – THE MADONNA COLLECTION. I’m guessing that they mean “Madonna” in the sense that it’s a nod to the Virgin Mother, but instead of Christmas it’s a tribute to Mother’s Day. However, I’m hoping they’ll get a little inspiration from Madge as well. Let’s be honest, the pop queen is the first Madonna most of us think of when we hear the name, isn’t it?

If you’d like to get in on The Madonna Collection, you can sign up for a SquareHue subscription here. It’s $21 a month for three, unique, limited edition polishes, and also one of my favorite subscription boxes.


Skin & Tonics Rating

Performance: 4/5 Great coverage, beautiful colors, though Yellow Submarine is slightly streaky at first.

Quality: 4/5 – Formula is nice, very easy to work with

Value: 4/5 – Three half ounce bottles of high-quality polish for $21 (and free shipping) comes out to $7 a bottle – about what you would pay for a bottle of Zoya or OPI

Overall: 4/5

Share this:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.